STATE SPECIALISTS 

EXTENSION

  • Angela O’Callaghan, Associate Professor - Social Horticulture (Clark County), ocallaghana@unr.edu, 702-257-5581
  • Anne Lindsay, Professor – Public Health & Exercise Science (Clark County), alindsay@unr.edu, 702-940-5434
  • Aurora Buffington, Assistant Professor – Public Health Nutrition (Clark County), abuffington@unr.edu, 702-257-5534
  • Buddy Borden, Associate Professor – Community Analysis & Economic Development (Clark County), bordenb@unr.edu, 702-257-5505
  • Christina Restaino, Assistant Professor – Natural Resources (Washoe County), restainoc@unr.edu
  • Dan Weigel, Professor – Child & Family Living (Washoe County), weigeld@unr.edu,    775-784-4848
  • Heidi Kratsch, Associate Professor – Horticulture (Washoe County), hkratsch@unr.edu, 775-784-4848
  • M.L. Robinson, Associate Professor – Environmental Horticulture (Clark County), robinsonml@unr.edu, 702-222-3130
  • Marlene Rebori, Professor – Community & Organizational Development (Washoe County), reborim@unr.edu, 775-784-4848
  • Maninder Walia, Assistant Professor – Field Crops (Washoe County), waliam@unr.edu, 775-336-0257
  • Teresa Byington, Professor – Early Childhood Education (Clark County), byingtont@unr.edu, 702-222-3130
  • YaeBin Kim, Associate Professor – Parenting Education & Child Development (Clark County), yaek@unr.edu, 702-257-5521

COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURE, BIOTECHNOLOGY & NATURAL RESOURCES

  • Amilton de Mello, Associate Professor – Meat Science & Food Safety (Dept of Agriculture, Veterinary & Rangeland Sciences), amilton@cabnr.unr.edu, 775-784-6648
  • Paul Meiman, Associate Professor – Rangeland Livestock/Wildlife Interactions (Dept of Agriculture, Veterinary & Rangeland Sciences, Elko County), pmeiman@unr.edu
  • Lesley Morris, Associate Professor – Rangeland Ecology & Management (Dept of Agriculture, Veterinary & Rangeland Sciences), lesleym@unr.edu, 775-784-6227
  • Patricia Santos, Assistant Professor – Molecular Plant Pathology (Dept of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology), pfsantos@unr.edu, 775-784-4102

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

  • Loretta Singletary, Professor – Economics & Interdisciplinary Outreach Liaison (Dept of Economics), singletaryl@unr.edu, 775-682-9138 
  • Michael Taylor, Associate Professor – Agriculture & Resource Economics (Dept of Economics), taylor@unr.ediu, 775-784-1679
  • Thomas Harris, Professor – Economic Development (Dept of Economics, Director of the Center for Economic Development), harris@unr.edu, 775-784-1681

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

  • Brenda Freeman, Professor – Mental Health Specialist (Dept of Counseling & Educational Psychology), brendafreeman@unr.edu, 775-682-9353 
  • Pamela Payne, Assistant Professor – Human Development & Family Studies (Dept of Human Development & Family Studies), ppayne@unr.edu, 775-682-6637
  • William Evans, Professor – Youth Development (Dept of Human Development & Family Studies), wevans@unr.edu, 775-784-7013

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE 

  • Kerri Jean Ormerod, Associate Professor – Geography; Human-environment relations regarding water governance; Director of Living with Drought (Dept of Geography), kormerod@unr.edu, 775-784-6347
  • Stephanie McAfee, Associate Professor – Applied Climatology; Nevada State Climatologist (Dept of Geography), smcafee@unr.edu, 775-784-6999

EXTENSION EDUCATORS  

  • Lisa Taylor, Assistant Professor – Carson City & Storey County, lktaylor@unr.edu,       775-887-2252
  • Vacant – Churchill County
  • Eric Killian – Southern Area Director, killiane@unr.edu, 702-257-5542
  • Hayley Maio – Clark County (Laughlin), hmaio@unr.edu
  • Carol Bishop, Associate Professor – Clark County (Logandale & Mesquite), cbishop@unr.edu, 702-397-2604
  • Lindsay Chichester, Assistant Professor – Douglas County, lchichester@unr.edu,        775-782-9960
  • Jill Baker-Tingey, Assistant Professor – Elko County, tingeyj@unr.edu, 775-738-1990
  • Gary McCuin  – Eureka County, gmccuin@unr.edu, 775-237-6134
  • Brad Schultz, Professor – Humboldt County, schultzb@unr.edu, 775-623-6304
  • Lois Erquiaga – Lander County, erquiag2@unr.edu,  
  • Donald Deever, Assistant Professor – Lincoln County, ddeever@unr.edu, 775-726-3109
  • Adeel Ahmed – Lyon County, adeela@unr.edu,
  • Staci Emm, Professor – Mineral County, emms@unr.edu, 775-945-3444
  • Misha Allen – S Nye County, mishaa@unr.edu
  • Vacant – N Nye & Esmeralda County
  • Steve Foster, Associate Professor – Pershing County, fosters@unr.edu, 775-273-2923
  • Holly Gatzke – Northern Area Director, gatzkeh@unr.edu, 775-784-4848
  • Vacant – White Pine County

PROGRAM LEADERS

Lyles, I. 2019, List of Extension's Statewide Faculty, Extension
 

Also of Interest:

 
Storing Pesticides Safely/ Almacenamiento Seguro de Pesticidas
This bilingual (Spanish and English) publication describes the proper way to store pesticides safely and how to dispose of unwanted pesticides. This is one of a series of 10 Pesticide Use and Safety/ Uso y Seguridad de Pesticidas fact sheets.
Hefner, M., Kratsch, H., Fisher, J. and Schaerer, M.F. 2020, University of Nevada, Reno Extension Fact Sheet FS-20-03
spills
Pesticide Safety Training: Dealing with Pesticide Spills Video
This video discusses publication describes dealing with pesticide spills, what materials should be in a spill kit, how to dispose of spill materials and how to report a pesticide spill.
Hefner, M., Kratsch, H. and Harrison, D. 2020, University of Nevada, Extension, YouTube Channel
box of pesticide
Pesticide Safety Training: Handling Pesticides Safely Video
This video discusses handling pesticides safely, which includes four areas of safety: properly storing pesticides, safely transporting pesticides, disposing of unused pesticides, and disposing of pesticide containers.
Hefner, M., Kratsch, H. and Harrison, D. 2020, University of Nevada, Extension, YouTube Channel
spills
Pesticide Safety Training: Keeping Yourself Safe during Pesticide Applications Video
This video discusses how pesticides enter the body, first aid for pesticide exposure, the differences between pesticide poisoning and heat-related illness, and preventing heat-related illnesses.
Hefner, M., Kratsch, H., and Harrison, D. 2020, University of Nevada, Extension, YouTube Channel
what to wear
Pesticide Safety Training: Protecting Yourself While Applying Pesticides – Using Personal Protective Equipment Video
Protecting yourself while applying pesticides is important. According to the Environmental Protection Agency, a pesticide is any substance or mixture of substances intended to prevent, destroy or repel any pest. Simply put, pesticides are substances intended to kill pests!
Hefner, M., Kratsch, H., and Harrison, D. 2020, University of Nevada, Extension, YouTube Channel